Navigational Buoys – What The Signs Mean

There are a total of 12 navigational buoys on the sea and they are all governed by an international body.

The International Association of Lighthouse Authorities control and regulate the colours, lights and shapes of the different buoys. This ensures that wherever we go on holiday they will be easily recognisable to us and we will be able to understand their meaning.

The following topics explain each buoy. As you will find out, some are more important to remember than others.